[fullwidth background_color=”” background_image=”” background_parallax=”none” enable_mobile=”no” parallax_speed=”0.3″ background_repeat=”no-repeat” background_position=”left top” video_url=”” video_aspect_ratio=”16:9″ video_webm=”” video_mp4=”” video_ogv=”” video_preview_image=”” overlay_color=”” overlay_opacity=”0.5″ video_mute=”yes” video_loop=”yes” fade=”no” border_size=”0px” border_color=”” border_style=”” padding_top=”20″ padding_bottom=”20″ padding_left=”” padding_right=”” hundred_percent=”no” equal_height_columns=”no” hide_on_mobile=”no” menu_anchor=”” class=”” id=””][title size=”1″ content_align=”left” style_type=”none” sep_color=”” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=”” class=”” id=””]
The DUI Process in California
In the state of California, a driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense. There are heavy penalties brought against those who are caught drinking and driving. You could be facing jail time, fines, community service, probation, educational classes, loss of your license and a permanent criminal record. It is extremely important that you immediately contact a highly skilled San Diego criminal lawyer if charged with DUI.
The Law Offices of Top Criminal Defense Law Firms, APLC has helped countless clients that were charged with DUIs. It may be possible to get your charged dropped or your penalties severely minimized.
Sobriety Testing Overview
If you are pulled over for driving erratically, speeding, or driving recklessly, an officer may administer “field sobriety tests.” These tests are done to test the intoxication level of the individual, but they are not infallible. In fact, the best of the tests, per the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, the best of the tests is only 77% accurate when properly administered.
You may be asked to take a Breathalyzer test. If your BAC (blood alcohol content) is .08 percent or above, you will be arrested and taken to jail for a DUI. You may always choose to refuse the Breathalyzer or blood test, however, this can create serious legal problems and your license will be suspended and you will face further penalties.
Make sure your rights are protected!
Your attorney must request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest in order to fight to save your license. The criminal charge of a DUI is a separate procedure to the DMV hearing, which is an administrative process and focuses solely on the status of your license. If you do not have a DMV hearing, your license will automatically go into suspension. A highly experienced DUI lawyer from our firm may be able to retain your driving privileges. If you go into a DMV hearing unprepared and without legal representation, they are not likely to grant you any driving privileges.
Separately, you will also be facing your DUI as a criminal charge in court. With a highly skilled attorney to defend you on all fronts, you may be able to emerge the case unscathed or at the very least with a minimum of damage. Please call us today so that we can review your case. Contact a DUI defense attorney from our firm today if you have been arrested for drunk driving.