Defense for Under 21 DUI in California
If you are over the age of 21 and arrested for DUI in California, your BAC level must be .08 percent or higher. Those who are under the age of 21 need only have a BAC content of .01 percent in order to be arrested. Due to the fact that the penalties for an under 21 DUI are so severe, it is recommended that you speak with an attorney today.
The penalties for a first offense DUI in California can be very severe. When you compound that with under-21 DUI charges, the result can be extremely damaging to the future of a young driver. Those under the legal drinking age that are charged with a DUI will have an especially difficult charge to overcome. Only a highly skilled defense lawyer should be trusted to represent your underage DUI charge.
Penalties for Underage Drunk Driving in California
If you are charged with an underage DUI, you will lose your license for one year. This happens automatically in the case of an underage DUI. An DUI defense attorney that handles DMV hearings may be able to assist you with retaining some of your driving privileges so that you may still drive to work, school, and other necessary places. You may also have to face:
- Years of probation
- $1,000 fine
- Jail time
- Alcohol classes
If you are convicted of a DUI, you will have a permanent criminal record, which may make it difficult to get into schools of your choice in addition to damaging your future employment opportunities. Don’t risk trying to fight the charge alone; make sure you have a top attorney on your side.
Let our skilled legal team fight for you!
At The Law Offices of Top Criminal Defense Law Firms, APLC, we have helped many clients that were under the age of 21 at the time of their arrest overcome serious penalties and even get the charges dropped.
With over 20 years of combined experience in DUI cases, our firm is distinguished amongst other defense firms in the San Diego area. Contact The Law Offices of Top Criminal Defense Law Firms, APLC today for powerful defense if you face any accusation of drunk driving while under the legal drinking age.